Namaste

Running used to be my workout, but I had to stop, at least for now. After each run jog, my heart pounds so hard that I can hear it when I close my eyes. (That can’t be normal.) Even recovery feels like a workout. I was in denial when my results showed I had an arrhythmia. Guess there may be some truth to that now.

So instead, I’ve been attending yoga at least twice a week since February, and probably once a week in the months before that. I like it because each movement and pose is a challenge. The focus is on yourself, your strength, on your breath, on the present… you get better with consistency, at your own pace, but you’re pushed but within your own limits. I’m starting to love it. And, in the midst of all the (internal and external) conflict and chaos, it seems to be the only stable thing in my life right now. It’s something I look forward to.

The part I’ve always loved, but have only really taken to heart now is the salutation of Namaste. We use it to close each class. The gesture Namaste represents the belief that there is a Divine spark within each of us that is located in the heart. The gesture is an acknowledgment of the soul in one by the soul in another. Some other meanings are “The spirit in me respects the spirit in you” or “the divinity in me bows to the divinity in you.”

Beautiful.

Namaste.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fitness

Leave a Reply

